April 2, 2013

on Leave a Comment

Jewel - The Greatest Hits Remixed

Singer/songwriter Jewel is no stranger to clubland as a number of her singles have been remixed for dancefloor consumption, and she even dabbled in some Electronic-influenced music with her 0304 album.

This remix collection includes 6 brand new remixes plus 4 previously released ones. 4 of the new remixes are for "Two Hearts Breaking". DJ Laszlo's Trance/Big Room mix is so beautiful as the melodic production complements Jewel's voice perfectly. Bimbo Jones opt for a similarly pretty chilled Electro mix. Andi Durrant & Steve More's mix has a Circuit/Electro flavor to it and it is nice as well. Timothy Allan & Mark Loverush's mix starts off nice but the noisy Electro sections take away from it. Juanjo Martin's new mix of "Standing Still" is also done in an uplifting Trance/Electro style and is lovely. Cutmore's new mix of "Foolish Games" maintains the dark, haunting feel of the original in a piano House style that works well too.

Todd Terry's late night House mix of "Intuition" maintains the integrity of the original with some instrumental sprinkles here and there. The light Trance Markus Schulz mix of "Stand" has the lush sound of Chicane's early work. Lenny Berdoldo's guitar-driven mix of "Only One Too" is just perfect. Gabriel & Dresden's groovy mix of "Serve The Ego" with that addictive loop running throughout it is great too.

Overall, this is a solid remix collection. Some additional mixes that appeared only on promos would have been a nice addition.


01. Two Hearts Breaking (DJ Laszlo Extended Mix)
02. Two Hearts Breaking (Bimbo Jones Remix)
03. Two Hearts Breaking (Andi Durrant & Steve More Club Mix)
04. Two Hearts Breaking (Timothy Allan & Mark Loverush Remix)
05. Standing Still (Juanjo Martin 2013 Remix)
06. Foolish Games (Cutmore 2013 Remix)
07. Intuition (Todd Terry In-House Mix)
08. Stand (Markus Schulz Club Mix)
09. Only One Too (Lenny B. Club Mix)
10. Serve The Ego (Gabriel & Dresden Club Mix)

Purchase the collection here (Amazon)

Grade: A


© Sweet Muzik
Designed by BlogThietKe Cooperated with Duy Pham
Released under Creative Commons 3.0 CC BY-NC 3.0
Posts RSSComments RSS
Back to top