June 3, 2013

on Leave a Comment

Sir Ari Gold - Play My F**kn Remix: A Remix Retrospective

[Note: This review was written based on the 90 second previews on iTunes and not on the full songs as Sweet Muzik hasn't purchased this release yet for reviewing so this is more of a feature/preview.]

Another one of the projects that was funded by his IndieGoGo campaign late last year is released. Instead of a traditional greatest hits album, all of the major singles and selected tracks from his three albums have been given new remixes, and two previously unreleased songs have been added.

Every one of the remixes has a contemporary yet classic sound and updates the songs nicely. The two Jared Jones mixes of "Sparkle" and "Love Wasn't Built In A Day" are some of the highlights. They have a lovely early 90s feel as does the new mix of "Love Will Take Over." Describing how great each and every mix is might be a bit much for this review, but it's rare that all were so well done. The two unreleased songs are terrific, and would be make for great single releases if that were to happen. Overall, this is an excellent collection.

1. Play My F**kn Record (Country Club Martini Crew Radio Mix)
2. Wave of U (2013 R.E.mix)
3. Make My Body Rock (Rasjek Rockin' 12")
4. Details of My Life
5. Where the Music Takes You (feat. Sasha Allen) [Quentin Harris vs. Empulsive No Place Like NYC Mega-Mix]
6. Love Will Take Over (WHO's F**kin Remix?)
7. Ride To Heaven (Solar City Buckle Up Radio Remix)
8. Human (Born To Make Mistakes) [Lost Daze Moroder Dub]
9. Sparkle (feat. Sarah Dash) [Jared Jones Inner-Diva Radio Mix]
10. Make My Body Rock (Matt Moss vs. Dr. Brooks Give It Up 90's Mega-Mix)
11. Love Wasn't Built In a Day (feat. Dave Koz) [Jared Jones Transport House Mix]
12. My Favorite Religion (HalfStyle HalfVeryJewish Remix)
13. Where the Music Takes You (Dr. Brooks Ol' Skool Mixtape)
14. Love Goddess (Luv Crew Bombshell Mix)

-Listen to clips and purchase on iTunes here

Grade: A


© Sweet Muzik
Designed by BlogThietKe Cooperated with Duy Pham
Released under Creative Commons 3.0 CC BY-NC 3.0
Posts RSSComments RSS
Back to top