September 3, 2013

on Leave a Comment

Dance Your Ass Off (Salsoul Remixes)

The Ultra Music record label has teamed up with spin studio Flywheel for some special spin classes which would feature songs from this new remix collection comprised of songs from the legendary Disco label Salsoul Records. The significant majority of the songs selected for this compilation are beloved classics. A few were underground hits, and there is one brand new track (the Jessie Andrews one). Overall, most of the new remixes are faithful to the originals, but are updated enough for today. The highlights include the remixes of "Love Sensation", "Ain't No Mountain High Enough", "Love Thang", and "By The Way You Dance." The remixes of "Jingo" and "I Got My Mind Made Up" are decent, however, the production on them loses the integrity that the originals had. Other remixes done of those over the years, most notably by Mount Rushmore and Thunderpuss respectively had been much better. The compilation is continuously mixed like a DJ set. The songs are nicely sequenced with every transition being very smooth. This is overall a great compilation.

01. Loleatta Holloway - Love Sensation (White Noize remix)
02. Inner Life - Ain’t No Mountain High Enough (White Noize remix)
03. Jessie Andrews - I Never Knew
04. Aurra - Forever (J Paul Getto remix)
05. The Salsoul Orchestra - Love Break (Stephan Luke remix)
06. First Choice - Dr Love (White Noize remix)
07. Candido - Jingo (Federico Scavo remix)
08. Instant Funk - I Got My Mind Made Up (DJ Dan remix)
09. First Choice - Love Thang (DJ Dan remix)
10. Inner Life - I Like It Like That Way (J Paul Getto remix)
11. Inner Life - Find Somebody (J Paul Getto remix)
12. Charo and The Salsoul Orchestra - Dance A Little Bit Closer (The Cube Guys remix)
13. Raw Silk - Do It To The Music (Federico Scavo remix)
14. Loleatta Holloway - Hit And Run (Joe T Vanelli remix)
15. Bunny Sigler - By The Way You Dance (Julien Jabre remix)

-Listen to clips and purchase here (iTunes)

Listen to the compilation in full here:
Grade: A-


© Sweet Muzik
Designed by BlogThietKe Cooperated with Duy Pham
Released under Creative Commons 3.0 CC BY-NC 3.0
Posts RSSComments RSS
Back to top