February 26, 2014

on Leave a Comment

Cyndi Lauper - Time After Time (Remixes)

The evergreen classic has been remixed by Alex Gaudino, Bent Collective (Danny Verde and Steven Redant) LordWardd, and Nervo as part of the promo for the 30th anniversary edition of the She's So Unusual album which includes additional material in the form of alternate remixes, edits, and dubs that were previously unreleased on CD or in digital form. This song was also remixed by Eddie Baez and Josh Harris in 2005 when Cyndi remade the song with Sarah McLachlan for her The Body Acoustic album.

Alex Gaudino's mix is the most melodic of the bunch, using all of the vocals and some of the chords and keys from the original. Bent Collective's big room mix is vocally driven but takes an unorthodox approach to the backing melody. LordWarddd's mix has an 80s synthpop vibe. The dissonant melodic structure is a bit jarring at first, but it's actually done quite well. Nervo's experimental approach omits most of the vocals. It's understandable that they tried something different but it doesn't work well here. Alex Gaudino and Bent Collective's mixes are the best of the bunch.

Listen to some of the mixes here: (YouTube)

The Nervo mix is available as part of the pre-order for the new edition of the album here (iTunes)

Grade: A-


© Sweet Muzik
Designed by BlogThietKe Cooperated with Duy Pham
Released under Creative Commons 3.0 CC BY-NC 3.0
Posts RSSComments RSS
Back to top